

Annual general meeting 2014

Minutes

Meeting held at the Elmgreen School, 7.30 pm, Tuesday 7 October Chair: Caroline Annesley

1. Welcome and introductions

32 members of the orchestra were present. Apologies had been received from Nicky Jackson.

In introducing the meeting, the chair suggested that item 7, appointment of conductor, should be discussed before the remaining items on the agenda. The meeting agreed.

7. Appointment of conductor

The chair said that the AGM provided an opportunity for members to express views on the process for appointing a new permanent conductor, taking into account the lessons learned from Tom Hammond's appointment and subsequent resignation, and recognising that Leigh O'Hara's current appointment is for two terms as an interim. The committee planned to meet very soon and to put recommendations to members for the way forward.

In discussion, the following points were made:

- While an initial probationary period of a year was desirable, thereafter the appointment should be for sufficient time to give the conductor scope to work on the longer term development of the orchestra. The system recently adopted of annual consultation of members had not produced a stable basis for a good relationship with the conductor.
 Various periods were mentioned for the appointment – ranging from 3 to 8 years.
- The orchestra needed to consider what it wanted its long term direction to be and this
 needed to be included in describing the new conductor's role. In reflecting on the
 decision in future, members would want to feel that they had made a well considered
 decision.
- It was noted that the procedure adopted in 2011 had been very thorough, involving public advertisement, shortlisting against specified criteria, interviews and a trial rehearsal.
- The choice of conductor had a significant part to play in making paying with DSO an

- enjoyable experience. There were also other factors to consider, including the future of educational work and the conductor's role in marketing and selection of soloists.
- Opportunity should be provided for members to consider their preferences carefully and in discussion with others. Another view was expressed that online voting was desirable.

In summing up, the chair said that these points would be reflected in the options which the committee presented to members. There was general agreement that this should be done by means of a further meeting before the end of this term.

2. Minutes of AGM 2013

The minutes were adopted without amendment.

3. Annual report

The report was adopted without comment.

4. Financial report

The Treasurer reported that the reserves had increased by over £900 during the year. In 2014-15, ticket prices were to be increased but subscriptions would remain the same.

In discussion about the education fund, it was noted that further proposals for the development of the fund, including seeking additional sources of income, would need to await the identification of a successor to Ishani O'Connor as the coordinator of the work, and the appointment of the new conductor.

The Treasurer's report was adopted without amendment.

5. Election officers

The officers were reelected unopposed. Nominations were as follows:

Caroline Annesley (chair) Nominated by Russell Ashley-Smith, seconded by Peter Watkins Jeremy Crump (secretary) Nominated by Emma Gant, seconded by Brendan O'Neill Liz Cleary (treasurer) Nominated by Laura Bradley seconded by Ruth Mitchell.

6. Election of ordinary members of the committee

The following were elected unopposed:

Tessa Crilly (Nominated by Ruth Mitchell and seconded by Nicky Jackson by email). Sarah Bort, Chris Burns, Roland McCabe, Hannah Northern (All nominated by Russell Ashley Smith and seconded by Alan Taylor).

8. Any other business

Ruth Mitchell drew the new committee's attention to the need to budget for the cost of hire of the piano at All Saints Church, the terms for which had only today been determined by the Church. The chair welcomed the opportunity to discuss this with Ruth before the next committee meeting.

The meeting closed at 8.20pm.

Jeremy Crump

Secretary

Caroline Annesley

Chair