

Annual General Meeting, 2010

Minutes

- 1. The meeting was held at Elmgreen School on Tuesday 12 October 2010 at 7pm. After a vote of those present, the meeting was adjourned until 8.45, at which time 40 members of the orchestra were present, as well as Paula Tysall (leader) and Lindsay Ryan (assistant conductor).
- 2. Apologies were received from Brendan O'Neill and Charles Mackworth-Young.
- 3. Frances Barrett chaired the meeting until the election of a new chair was completed (see paragraph 10 below).

Discussion of procedure

4. The Chair introduced item 3 on the agenda circulated before the meeting (copy attached) and invited the two nominees for chair to speak in turn. She first asked for a seconder for Chris Burns, and he was seconded by Graham Vernon. Chris then asked that the election be delayed until after discussion of his motion to replace the constitution of the orchestra, which was down as item 7 of the agenda. In doing so, he explained the principles behind his proposal, which was to increase the transparency and accountability of the committee and to give non-committee members of the orchestra a proper say in the running of the orchestra. The chair asked Russell Ashley-Smith to speak, and Russell gave reasons why he was a suitable person to serve as chair. Several members then asked that Chris's proposal be considered. A motion was then put that item 7 be considered before the election of officials (item 3). This was carried with 26 members in favour.

Item 7: constitution of the orchestra

5. Chris Burns moved that the constitution be replaced by the version which he had circulated. It was seconded by Nicky Jackson.

- 6. A number of members then spoke about the issues raised by Chris's proposed amendment to the constitution, the document he had circulated earlier in the term, which touched on the resignation of the conductor, Julian Williamson, and a number of related issues. In summary, there was general agreement that the orchestra was a successful and well run organisation, and all were committed to its future success. Several members expressed unease about the extent to which the committee's decisions had been transparent, about the availability of records of the committee's decisions to members, and about the roles of committee members. While some members were supportive of Chris's changes, others were less certain. A number of members expressed the view that there had been insufficient time to give Chris's proposals the attention that they deserved.
- 7. In opposing the motion, Jeremy Crump suggested that it would be risky to make a hasty decision on the substance of the proposal and that some aspects of it were flawed. He recommended that the meeting should vote against the proposed change, but suggested that it should then consider a motion to give the task of reviewing the constitution to the new committee who should report back with recommendations to the orchestra.
- 8. Chris then withdrew his motion. A motion proposed by Sam Wise and seconded by Liz Cleary was agreed without opposition requiring the committee to carry out a review of the constitution. It was agreed that this review should include the following features:
 - The review should be completed in 6 months
 - The product should be a set of recommendations put to an extraordinary general meeting
 - The review would be carried out by the committee in open session. Dates of the
 meetings to discuss the constitution should be made known to the membership
 and any member of the orchestra could attend if they wished
 - A working party should be set up to support this process, details of which were for agreement outside the AGM
 - The link to the parallel version of the existing constitution and Chris's proposed new version which had been prepared by Russell Ashley-Smith should be sent to all members with these minutes. [It is: http://www.dulwichsymphonyorchestra.org.uk/committeePapers/2010-09-25constitutionalAmendments.pdf]
 - Members should send any comments to the committee for consideration in the review.

Election of officials

9.	The meeting returned to the election of a new chair to succeed Frances Barrett who was
	standing down from that position. A motion to hold a secret ballot was defeated and the
	election held by show of hands. Russell Ashley-Smith received 29 votes and Chris
	Burns 9 votes. There were 2 abstentions.

- 10. Russell Ashley-Smith then took the chair.
- 11. The remaining officers and ordinary committee members were appointed unopposed. The new committee therefore comprises:

Russell Ashley-Smith (chair)

Frances Barrett (secretary)

Ian Finn (treasurer)

Jeremy Crump

Julian Elias

Emma Gant

Peter Mackworth-Young

Graham Vernon

Financial report for 2009-10

12. The financial report for 2009-10 presented by Ian Finn was accepted unanimously. (copy attached)

Chair's annual report for 2009-10

13. The report submitted by Frances Barrett was accepted unanimously. (copy attached)

Any other business

- 14. Peter Watkins proposed a vote of thanks to Frances Barrett for her work as chair and her contribution in this role to the success of the orchestra.
- 15. The meeting closed at 9.35pm.

Jeremy Crump Secretary